close navigation menu

Tortola (Road Town), British Virgin Islands

The British Virgin Islands, a territory of the Crown, is comprised of more than 50 islands and cays lined with white-sand beaches and blanketed with emerald-green hills. Its main islands—Tortola, Virgin Gorda, Anegada and Jost Van Dyke—host thriving cultural centers, market towns and remnants of the sugar plantation days. The British Virgin Islands’ capital, Road Town, is a tranquil haven for yachts and fishing boats bobbing on a harbor overlooked by rainforest-clad hills. A drive along Tortola’s steep roads lead to secluded beaches, hidden coves and breathtaking vistas.